Parramatta Eagles

Formed 1956

The Eagles were formed in 1956 as the Melita Eagles by Maltese migrants after the amalgamation of 2 new Maltese clubs, the Malta Eagles and the Melita Soccer Club. In 1962 they changed their name to Melita Eagles-Newtown.

They competed in the NSW State Leagues until 1983 when they competed for 1 year in the NSL before being relegated. However in 1990-91 they were given another chance and performed well until being relegated again in 1994-95, even after changing their name again to Parramatta Eagles.

Parramatta Eagles competed in the NSW Super League.

In 2011 they changed their name to Parramatta FC, but still with the nickname The Eagles and they now compete in the Natioanl Premier Leagues NSW 2.

Kit History

Home Kits

Malta Eagles 1956

Melita Eagles


Parramatta Eagles




Away Kits



Special Kits

FFA Cup 2014

If you can help fill the gaps or correct errors in these records please contact me!


Formed 1956

The Eagles were formed in 1956 as the Melita Eagles by Maltese migrants after the amalgamation of 2 new Maltese clubs, the Malta Eagles and the Melita Soccer Club. Melita Eagles have their origins in the Maltese community and stretch back to the formation of the original NSW Federation of Soccer Clubs in 1957. Along with higher profile clubs like Prague, Hakoah and APIA Leichhardt they were party of the original breakaway movement which was the death of the old NSW Soccer Football Association in January 1957.

Starting off in third grade in 1957 the Eagles progressed to second grade in 1962 adopting the name of Melita Eagles-Newtown and playing their home games at Fraser Park, Sydenham. At the end of the 1966 season where they finished third they played off for a spot in the first division with wooden spooners Corinthians. Winning the match 3-0 they progressed for their first stint in the top flight in 1967. Finishing in the bottom few clubs in '68 and '69 they were relegated at the end of the 1970 season when they finished last. By the end of 1976 they were lucky to avoid relegation to third division again when they finished last but with the establishment of the NSL they were given a reprieve and stayed into second division.

A complete transformation occurred in 1977 when they finished minor premiers of second division and were awarded promotion into the first division again for the 1978 season. They finished third behind Croatia and Sutherland. Fifth in 1979 saw the club win the minor premiership in 1980 by a whopping six premiership points. They did this again in the 1983 season where they lost just three games to finish in top spot. This was enough to earn Melita a crack at the National Soccer League but sadly they finished 11th out of the 12 teams and were again relegated to first division of the NSW State League.

After minor premiership wins in 1986 and 1989 the ASF deemed Melita ready for another stint in the NSL. Although not one of the competitions glamour sides Melita made two forays into the NSL finals with their best season being 5th in 1990/1. In the finals they bowed out to Marconi 3-4 on penalties. In 1992/3 they again finished 6th and launched another assault on the semi-finals only to lose 2-4 on aggregate to the Wollongong Wolves. The changing of the clubs name to Parramatta Eagles was in accordance with the wishes of the ASF to remove ethnic origins from club names.

At the end of the 1994/5 Soccer Australia relegated the Parramatta Eagles back to the NSW Super League competition. In 1996 they finished on top of the second round table and played in the grand final against Adamstown Rosebud and won the match 5-3 on penalties with the game locked 1-1 at full-time. In 1997 they won the minor premiership. They won the grand final 3 goals to 1 against Bonnyrigg White Eagles.

1998 was a poor year for the club finishing sixth.

The club has now returned as a new club in the Super League. The New club name is PCYC Parramatta Eagles which played in the 2007 NSW Super League.

The club played in the NSW Super League until and including 2010, when it was sold to the Granville & Districts Soccer Football Association (GDSFA). The 2011 season was played under the slightly changed name, Parramatta FC (nickname the Eagles). Even though the Parramatta FC First Grade team finished at the bottom of the NSW Premier League ladder in 2011, strong performances by the Under 20 and Under 18 teams ensured that the club remained eligible to play Premier League for 2012.

::: Made with CoffeeCup : Web Design Software & Website Hosting :::